Corona: update measures EU (22.03.2021)

As a result of the increasing corona figures, several countries are taking measures to contain the virus.  Below is an overview. 


Areas with high incidence rates

List of relevant areas: Poland, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Serbia, Slovenia, Hungary, Albania, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Estonia, Latvia, Malta, Montenegro & Sweden.  Drivers who have been in a high incidence area during the last 10 days before entering Germany need to fill in a registration form and present a negative COVID test of less than 48 hours.

Virus-variant regions

The United Kingdom and Ireland are no longer virus-variant regions. These areas are currently: Moselle region (France), Tyrol (Austria), Slovakia and Czech Republic.

Truck drivers entering Germany who have stayed in or transited through one or more of the above countries during the last 10 days must register using a form and submit a negative COVID test within 48 hours. The result of the test must be in German, English, French or Italian.

Border controls

Border controls at the Czech and Slovak borders have been extended until 31 March.


Test obligation Austria extended

The obligation to pass a test when entering Italy after having spent more than 12 hours in Austria is valid until 6 April 2021.

As a reminder, professional drivers entering or transiting Italy who have spent more than 12 hours in Austria during the 14 days prior to arrival in Italy must, in the event of a control, produce a negative test result (PCR or antigen) less than 7 days old. The certificate must be presented to the authorities in case of control.


A negative COVID test is currently only required on entry into France for drivers who have spent more than 48 hours in the UK. There is an exemption in Belgium and the Netherlands.

We will keep you informed of any further changes to these measures.

These measures have their influence and result, among others, in waiting times at the respective borders.

Source: Febetra – update 22.03.2021